ANTI-BULLYING INFO

Harassment, Intimidation, or Bullying (HIB)

"Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents,that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory [handicap]disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function [or],on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, CHAPTER 122 , that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

a) a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property; [or]

b) has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students [in such a way as to cause substantial disruption in, or substantial interference with, the orderly operation of the school]; or

c) creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

North Brunswick Board of Education Policy 5512

NJDOE HIB Guidance for Schools

Guidance for Parents on the Anti-Bullying Bill of Rights Act

Prevention Programs and Initiatives:

  • PBSIS (Middle School and High School)

  • Character Education (PreK-12)

  • "Week of Respect" Activities

  • "Violence Prevention Week" Activities

  • Counseling Programs

  • Staff Professional Development

  • School Safety Team

State School Climate Specialist

Kelly Allen

TBA

609-3776-3500

District Anti-Bullying Coordinator

Amy Kita

akita@nbtschools.org

732-289-3029

North Brunswick Twp. Early Childhood Center

Scott Passner

spassner@nbtschools.org

732-317-6300

John Adams Elementary School

Carlie Cummings

ccummings@nbtschools.org

732-289-3100

Arthur M. Judd Elementary School

Dominy Alderman

dalderman@nbtschools.org

732-289-3200

Livingston Park Elementary School

Diane Mory

dmory@nbtschools.org

732-289-3300

Parsons Elementary School

Beth Yuhas

byuhas@nbtschools.org

732-289-3400

Linwood School - Grade 5

Nicole Jacunski

njacunski@nbtschools.org

732-289-3600

Linwood School - Grade 6

Alexis Jacqueney

ajacqueney@nbtschools.org

732-289-3600

North Brunswick Township Middle School - Grade 7

Noe Feliz

nfeliz@nbtschools.org

732-951-7000

North Brunswick Township Middle School - Grade 8

Nada Marsh

nmarsh@nbtschools.org

732-951-7000

North Brunswick Township High School - Grade 9

Michele Mayernick

mmayernick@nbtschools.org

732-289-3700 x73082

North Brunswick Township High School- Grade 10

Altagracia Ruiz

aruiz@nbtschools.org

732-289-3700 x73090

North Brunswick Township High School - Grade 11

Kate Bloemer

kbloemer@nbtschools.org

732-289-3700 x73089

North Brunswick Township High School - Grade 12

Rebecca Petronko

rpetronko@nbtschools.org

732-289-3700 x73098

RESOURCES AND REPORTS